« PreviousContinue »
PETER HAYNES, Sen., from Haverhill, Mass., settled in Trenton previous to 1790. He married Anna, daughter of William and Elizabeth Hopkins. She born 1768, and the first white child born in Trenton. Their son Peter, Jr., born Aug. 18, 1802 ; died in Everett, Mass., Nov. 12, 1890. Was the fourth son out of nine children, seven of whom married and reared families in Trenton.
The first railroad from Bangor to Old Town was built by the enterprise of Edward and Samuel Smith, merchants, of Bangor. Its trains commenced to run regularly Nov. 30, 1836.
September 1, 1816, Francis Carr, Jr., announces in the Bangor Register that he has made arrangements to settle in Charleston, S. C., as a commission merchant.
PELEG PENDLETON OF SEARSPORT. See this magazine. He and his children, 1760-1780, were born in westerly Rhode Island, (not in Stonington, Conn.,) 1732. Son of William, who was son of Joseph, who was son of James.
By an act of the Legislature approved March 5, 1832, Thomas De Prarar De Labatt Marac Feareguis De Lacazedair, of Bangor, was allowed to take the name of Thomas Adams.
Bank of Bangor was incorporated Feb. 12, 1834, "to be established in the Bangor Village on the east side of the Kenduskeag stream.” Capital stock was $100,000.00 in gold and silver.
THE FRIGATE CONSTITUTION-OLD IRONSIDES.
This ship was one of six vessels authorized to be constructed by act of Congress, 1785. She was built at Boston, Edmund Hartt, master builder, and launched Sept. 20, 1797. “Her three masts were cut in the town of Malta, now Windsor, on the north side of the present Augusta road, between Cooper's mills and Bryant's Corner, and within half a mile of the Corner. Thomas Cooper of Newcastle, and one Gray who afterwards settled in Windsor, or Whitefield, cut the trees, swamped a road to Puddle Dock in Alna, in the winter of 1796-97, and hauled them into the Sheepscot, and in the spring took them to Wiscasset, where the government agents yoked them at both ends with pieces of white oak 5x8, slipped through mortices in the trees and towed them to Boston."*
In 1812, having just arrived in Chesapeake Bay from Europe, she was ordered northward to cruise off New York, being then commanded by Commodore Isaac Hull. In July, while cruising off Long Island, she was chased by a British squadron consisting of five ships of war for nearly three days and nights. The English frigates were several times within gun shot of the Constitution, but she escaped and got safely into Boston. After a few days, August 3, he sailed on a cruise, and August 16, 19, in lat. 41°, 41', N., long. 55°, 48', W., off the entrance of the Gulf of St. Lawrence, a ship was discovered to leeward which was soon found to be the British frigate Guerriere, Capt. James A. Dacres, and then ensued the terrible naval battle which has been sung in song and told in story ever since. At 5 P. M. the attack was made by the British ship, and before 7 P. M. she had surrendered to the Constitution. This was the first important naval engagement during that war. Capt. Hull carried his prisoners to Boston and was voted a gold medal by Congress.
In 1813, Capt. Bainbridge had command of her and was succeeded by Commodore Charles Stewart, grandfather of Charles
* Mr. John M. Bond of South Jefferson, now 78 years of age.-Communicated by T. H. H.
S. Parnell, the Irish leader. She did good service during the remainder of the war.
She was converted into a school ship and used for that purpose at the Brooklyn Navy Yard, and was subsequently removed to the Kittery Navy Yard where she now is. April 30, 1891, a Colonnial Party was held on board of her. Nearly 20,000 people it is said visited her, most of them from New Hampshire.
SETTLERS ON THE WALDO PATENT IN FRANKFORT, ISLESBOROUGH AND LINCOLNVILLE
AND NORTHPORT, IN 1793.
Eben Neazy (or Veasey,) Attorney to the legal heirs of the Muscongus or Waldo Patent (so-called) did at the several periods hereafter mentioned deliver possession of certain parts or lots comprehended in the said patent, and that were unlawfully occupied by sundry persons to John Steel Tyler, Esq., Attorney to Henry Knox, Esq., who is the purchaser of all the right of the said heirs in and to the patent aforesaid. The following are the names of the several persons who so unlawfully occupied or usurped the said parts and lots, with the dates at which possession was taken.
FRANKFORT, Oct. 26, 1793.
OCT. 28, 1793.
John Peree, (?)
OCT. 30, 1793. Samuel Stowers,
Joshua Treat, James Ridley,
Wm. Farley, James Berry,
Widow Fletcher, Miles Staples,
John L. Sampson, Miles Staples, Jr.,
LONG ISLAND TOWN OF ISLESBOROUGH, OCT. 25, 1793.
Henry Pendleton, Thomas Pendleton,
Joshua Pendleton, Thomas Pendleton, Jr.,
Oliver Pendleton, William Elwell,
Thomas Eames, Josiah Farrar,
Charles Elwell, John Gilkey,
Thomas Gilkey, Jeremiah Hatch,
William Boardman, Simon Dodge. DUCK TRAP NOW NORTHPORT AND LINCOLNVILLE, NOV. 14, 1793. Joshua Adams,
Nath. Knight, Zenas Drinkwater,
Rena Knight, Jos. Drinkwater,
James Getchel Micajah Drinkwater,
Ben. Smith, Robert Atham,
John Pomroy, Nath. Pendleton,
Thomas Brazer, Angus McIntire,
Allen Calef, Thomas Nutter,
John Wellings, Edward Carter,
Isaac Carter, Zach. Lawrence,
Davis, Joseph Richards,
Hugh Kellihan, Adam Patterson,
Benj. Aulds, Mark Welch,
Jacob Ames, John Welch,
Adam Hester, Jacob Ring,
John Clark, Heirs of Jacob Hamilton,
John Beaty, Reuben Knowlton,
Hezekiah Flanders, Seth Pinkman,
John Knowlton, John Harvey,
NOV. 5, 1793. John Wade,
Geo. Ulmer, John Studley,
Phillip Ulmer, Dan Deckrow,
Joseph Collimore, Henry Elwell,
Moses Dunbar, Ephraim Hunt,
Lemuel Thayer, Samuel Turner,
Ephraim Gay, David Jay, Jr.,
David Gay, William Hunt,
David Brooks, Benj. Meservey,
Peleg Deckrow, Zeph. Deckrow,
Isaac Deckrow, Isaac Collamore,
CONTINUED FROM VOL. VI, PAGE 183.
i. HANNAH, b. Dec. 13, 1780.
SETH, b. Jan. 30, 1791.
Hon. Martin KINSLEY, Jr., born in Bridgewater, Mass., 1754. Graduated Harvard College, 1778. Settled first in Hardwick, Mass. Representative there. Removed to Hampden 1799. Lawyer, Judge of Court of Common Pleas. Representative, 1801-3-6; representative to Congress, 1819. He removed to Roxbury, Mass., where he died 1835.
NYMPHAS KINSLEY, brother of Martin, horn 1750; settled in Hampden ; died there 1822. Married Molly Richmond of Taunton, Mass, 1800. No children. His sister Lydia born 1745. Married Jonathan Burr, 1792. She died in Hampden.
FREEMAN KNOWLES from Cape Cod via Gorham, Me., then to Hampden, 1786. He was born in Eastham, Mass. Moderator of the first town meeting. He lived near what is now Neally's Corner. Wife, Esther Myrick. She was drowned while crossing the river with two men, April 2, 1797. Children :
Mehetable Snow, of Orrington, Nov. 19, 1795. Four sons and seven
CAPT. WILLIAM MURCH, married Hannah Thompson, whose mother married George Brooks of Orrington.
i. MARY, m. Harding