Page images
PDF
EPUB

stone Oct. 27, 1847, aged 85 years, 6 months. History of Thomaston, page

says: "he was born 1761, lived in Hampden and died in Rockland Nov. 1, 1846.” His wife d. Nov. 7, 1844, aged 77 years, 9 months; grave stone at Hampden; children in part:

1. William b. 1794; of Rockland; d. Oct. 21, 1848.

2. Richard S. b.- ; of Rockland; m. Dunning. ii. THOMAS, b. Saturday, Jan. 14, 1769. He lived in Bangor. He d. at

sea Dec. 14. 1797. His heirs had lot No. 83. He was m. Jan. 26,
1791 to Jane Webster of Bangor by Rev. Seth Noble. Mr. Noble in
his diary says: "May 26, 1795 attended the funeral of Thomas How-
ard's twins, his wife being very sick,” and also Thomas Howard's
wife died June 3, 1795.” They left one child.
1. Mary, b. Sept. 11, 1790; m. Timothy Lord 1811. He was b. in

Kennebunk 1783. Came to Bangor; next to what is now
Greenfield, Me., 1811; then to No. 1 Plantation in 1812, and
then to Lowell, Me., about 1850. He was a deacon of the
church, and was a good, honest, industrious man. He died
in Lowell May 20, 1869, aged 86, and his wife died Feb. 10,
1873. Children; the first b. in Greenfield, the others in
Plantation No. 1, adjoining Lowell, Me.; Thomas Lord, b.
Mar. 19, 1812, resides in Lowell, m. Hannah Preble, of
Whitefield, Me., Aug. 7, 1834; Sarah J. Lord, b. Feb. 3,
1814, m. Cyrus Roberts, Aug. 7, 1834; Charlotte Lord, b.
April 1816; m. John Neal, of New Sharon, d. in California;
Tobias Lord, b. May 1818, m. Frances Williams, of Great
Pond Pl. ; Malinda Lord b. May 20, 1820, m. Greenlief M.
Fogg, Dec. 11, 1810, reside in Lowell; Mary Lord, b. March
11, 1822, m. Thomas Williams of Great Pond; she d. March
26, 1887; Emeline Lord, b. Feb. 7, 1824, m. Charles Carr of
Mariaville, she d. California, May 11, 1886; Harriet Lord, b.
July 9, 1826, m. Charles Preble of Entield; Timothy Lord,
b. Aug. 8, 1828, d. May 16, 1841; George Lord, b. Jan. 14,
1833, m. Mary E. Twombley, Nov. 1854, reside in Lowell;
Margaret Lord, b. June 7, 1835, m. Williain Davis, of

Lowell. iii. MARY, b. in Bangor, Saturday, June 30, 1771, said to have been the

first white child born in Bangor. She m. Andrew Mayhew, Nov. 19, 1788. He settled in Orrington, now Brewer, then to Glenburn, and then to Bangor, where he afterward lived. He d.; his wife d. July

16, 1846. iv. Lois, b. in Bangor Saturday, March 11, 1774, m, Samuel Couillard. He settled in Bangor on the Sherburne farm, Lot. No.

- ; from thence he went to the Provinces, and after several moves settled in

Frankfort, where he d. They had a large family. v. David, b. Wednesday, Jan. 1, 1777. Married Rachel Ryder, of

Brewer, published March 17, 1809. He at first settled on a part of
his father's homestead, but removed to another part of the town.
He d. in Bangor Feb. 26, 1843; his wife is said to have died in
Argyle, May 2, 1862, aged 76. Children:

1. Sarah J., m. Isaac Foster of Argyle. He b. Mar. 21, 1807.
2. Thomas, b. Jan. 21, 1811.
3. Wm. R. b. Aug. 25, 1812.
4. David S., b. Aug. 16, 1814.
5. Rebecca, b. June 20. 1816.

6. Harvey (?) b. Sept. 30, 1818. vi. SUSANNAH, b. Oct. 27, 1779. Married Samuel Jones Oct. 11, 1802.

He first settled on a part of her father's homestead; then moved to
what is now Holden. She d. Sept. 17. 1808, leaving two children.
She d. Sept. 17, 1808, leaving two children, He m. again, and d.
Dec. 10, 1853, aged 72.

vii. Joan, b. Wednesday, April 16, 1782. He settled on the old home

stead of his father. He m. first Susan Wadlin July 31, 1808. She
d. May 14, 1825. He m. second Mrs. Remembranco Boynton Feb.
25, 1826, (she was then widow of Joseph W. Boynton to whom she
was m. Oct. 30, 1807.) He d. Dec. 10, (15) 1844. His widow d.
Oct. 28, 1866, aged 79. Children were six children by first wife and
three children by second wife,

1. Sarah, b. Aug. 31, 1809.
2. Mary, b. Nov. 1, 1811.

3. Joseph, b. April 7, 1815. viii. FRANCES, b. June 8, 1785, m. Ezra Patten, of Hampden, published in

Bangor, Sept. 4, 1808. He moved to Hermon and then to Bangor

where he afterward lived and died. ix. SARAH, b. Monday, April 14, 1788; m. Zebulon Smith of Bath, or

Woolwich. He removed to Bangor where he afteward lived. He
was deacon of Hammond street church from 1837 to 1846;
he d. Dec. 28, 1865, aged 79 years, 1 month. His wife d. July 13, 1843,
aged 55. Children copied in part from Bangor Records :
1. Susan, b. in Woolwich, March 6, 1810.
2. Emeline, b. Feb. 11, 1812.
3. Zebulon M. P., b. March 26, 1814.
4. Sarah, b. June 10, 1816.
5. Ann M., b. Dec. 25, 1819. (?)

DONATIONS TO THE SUFFERING PEOPLE OF BOSTON

UNDER THE PORT BILL, 1774-5.

FROM MAINE*.

1774, Sept. 8, Old York, from Joshua and Samuel Sewall, £2, 1os.

Oct. 10, Berwick, 26 sheep, 6 oxen.
Oct. 24, Old York, 106 potatoes, 57 sheep, 4 qtls. fish, 23

cords of woods, £i, 4s.
Dec. 4, North Yarmouth, 43 cords of wood.
1775, Jan. 30, Falmouth, Casco Bay, 51 1-2 cords wood.

Jan. 3), Cape Elizabeth, 44 1-2 cords wood.
Feb. 3, Kittery, £41, 38., 5d.
Feb. 4, South Berwick, £11, 6., 8d.
Feb. 4, North Berwick, £2, 2s.
Feb. 6, Biddeford, Joseph Moirill, £10, 125.
Feb. 7, Scarborough, £11, 45., 3d.
Feb. 7, George Town, £22, 148, 4d.
Feb. 9, Wells, £9, Is., Id.

Wells, 26 1-2 cords woods.
Mar. 20, George Town, First Parish, £6, os., 3d.
Mar. 20, Capt. Wm. Rogers, £2, 8s.
Mar. 22, Falmouth, 2d. par., 30 7-8 cords wood.

Mar. 22, Gorhamtown, 8 7-8 cords wood. 1777, Dec. 17, Arundel, £21, 8s., 8d.

Feb. 9,

New England Historical Genealogical Register, vol. 30, p. 374.

THE FRENCH EXPEDITION TO ACADIA, NOW

MAINE, IN 1613.

Translated from Vol. 1 of the Narratives of the Jesuits* by

Professor Stephen S. Nash,t of Addison, Me.

CHAPTER XXIII. An expedition was fitted out in France to remove the Jesuits from Port Royal and make a new settlement in a more suitable place.

The leader of this expedition was Capt. La Saussaye. He had with him thirty persons who were to winter in the country, including the two Jesuits and their servant whom he was to take to Port Royal. He had also with him two other Jesuits, P. Quentin and Gilbert du Thet; but they were to return to France in case the two at Port Royal whose fate was uncertain, should be dead. The entire expedition including the sailors numbered forty-eight. The master of the vessel was Charles Flory du Hableuille, [Hableville) a bold, quiet man of good judgment. The King had kindly given us four tents or royal pavillions and some munitions of war; Simon La Maistre had carefully looked after the freighting and provisioning of the vessel, and Gilbert du Thet, the Jesuit coadjutor, a very enterprising man, had spared himself no pains; so that we were abundantly provided with everything for more than a year, besides the horses and goats which we took with us for our colony. Our vessel was of a hundred tons burden.

This expedition thus equipped set out from Honfleur, Mar. 12, 1613, and first made land at Cape de La Heue [Heve] in Acadia, May 16, having been two entire months on the voyage. At Cape de La Heve they celebrated mass and erected a cross affixing to it the arms of the Marchioness de Guercheuille (ville), thus taking possession in her

Thence putting to sea they came to Port Royal. At Port Royal they found five persons only; namely, the two Jesuits, their servant, the apothecary Hebert and one other; De Biencourt and his men were at some distance scattered here and there. Hebert occupied the place of the above named gentleman, they presented to him the letters of the King in which was contained an order to release the Jesuits and permit them to go wherever it should seem best to them. Thus the Jesuits peacefully removed their effects and that and the following day were made days of good cheer to Hebert and his companion, in order that this arrival might not be to them a sad one.

At our departure, though we were not in debt to them, we left them a barrel of bread and some flagons of wine that our farewell might be equally pleasant.

Head wind kept us five days at Port Royal whence a northeast wind arising we set sail intending to go to the river Pentegoet

]

name.

But as

* See Ante, vol. 5, page 222.

+ Prof. Nash graduated from Brown University, 1859, and was for many years connected with the schools of New York City.-EDITOR.

to a place named Kadesquit, [

] a site having many advantages, and one that had been chosen for the new colony. But God disposed otherwise ; for as we were at the south-east of the island of Menano [ ] the weather changed, and the thick fog shut us in, so that we could see no farther by day than by night. We were in great fear, because at that place there were many rocks and breakers among which we did not dare to venture in thick weather. The wind not permitting us to get into deeper water we remained in this position two days and two nights, tacking now this way, now that way as God inspired us. This distress moved us to beseech God that he would deliver us from danger, and for his own giory guide us to some good place. In mercy he heard us, for in the evening we saw the stars, and in the morning the fog cleared. We found ourselves off Mount Desert [des Monts deserts], an island which the savages call Pemetiq. The pilot approached the east coast of the island, where he came to anchor in a fine, large harbor and where we redeemed our vows, raising the cross, singing praises to God and celebrating the holy mass. We called this place and harbor Saint Savior [S. Sauueur].

CHAPTER XXIV. But at the harbor of Saint Savior a spirited dispute arose between the sailors and the passengers of the vessel. The following was the occasion of it. The colony charter and agreement made in France declaring that the sailors were bound to enter some port in Acadia which we should name, and there remain for three months, the sailors maintained that they had already arrived in a port of Acadia, and that according to the agreement the three months should date from that arrival. On the other side, it was argued that this port was not the one that had been named Kadesquit, and, therefore the time should not begin till they were there. The pilot took the opposite ground, maintaining that no vessel had been so far as Kadesquit, and that he did not wish to make himself a discoverer of new routes. But the continued arguments ended in talk only, a bad augury for our future.

In the midst of the dispute the savages made the smoke signal. This signified that they would go to reconnoitre if we needed them, which we did. The pilot using the opportunity told them that the Fathers of Port Royal were on his vessel. The savages replied that they would gladly see those whom they had known two years before at Pentagoet. P Biard went at once to find them and to inform himself concerning the route to Kadesquit, signifying to them that he wished to settle there. “But,” said they, "if you wish to settle in this neighborhood, why not rather stop with us who have as large and as good a a place as Kadesquit?” They laid before him the advantages of their location, assuring him that it was so healthy and pleasant that when the natives were sick in other places they were brought to be there recovered. These praises did not greatly move M. Biard as he was

King Henry IV died in 1610 and his son Louis XIII, then but twelve years old was the reigning king.

+ Now Bangor.

well aware that savages are much given to boasting of their surroundings. But they are skilful in making use of tricks to obtain their ends. “But,” continued they, “you must come as far as Asticou ; our chief is sick unto death, and if you do not come he will die without baptism, and will not go to heaven; you will be the cause of it for he wishes to be baptized.” This argument thus naively given surprised M. Biard. and fully persuaded him to go thither, seeing that the distance was only three leagues and the loss of time would be only one afternoon. Accordingly he set out in one of their canoes, taking with him La Motte and Simon, the interpreter.

Arriving at the cabins of Asticou we found him sick, but not unto death, for it was only rheumatism that tormented him; therefore assured of his recovery, we had abundant time to visit the place so highly praised and considered better than Kadesquit for a French cok ony: and truly we found that the savages had good ground for their high praise of it; for we, ourselves, were delighted with it. Having carried the news to the leaders of our expedition, and they also having come to recoinnoitre all unanimously agreed that we should settle there without looking farther, seeing that God appeared so to direct by the happy incidents that had arisen, and by a certain miracle that he had performed in the healing of a child, of which we will speak elsewhere.

This place is a beautiful hill rising gently from the sea and watered on its sides by two fountains. Twenty or twenty-five acres of the land are cleared and in some places covered with grass as high as a man's head. The outlook is to the south and east, almost at the mouth of the Pentagoet and where are the outlets of several pleasant streams abounding in fish. The soil is dark colored and fertile. The port and harbor are the finest ever seen, and in a suitable place to command the entire coast. The harbor especially is as safe as a pond; for, besides being protected by the large island Mount Desert, it is farther sheltered by certain small islands which break the wind and waves and fortify its entrance. There is no fleet which it cannot accomodate or ship so deep that it cannot discharge within cable's length of the shore. Its latitude is 44 deg. 20 min. north, not far north as Bourdeau.

Having landed at this place and erected the cross we set ourselves to work. With our work began our contentions, a second forerunner of our misfortunes. The cause of these quarrels was that our captain La Saussaye spent too much time in tilling the soil ; while the leading men urged him not to call off the workmen to that occupation but to apply himself without interruption to building and fortifying, which he was not willing to do. From these quarrels arose others until the English united us as you shall see.

CHAPTER XXV.

OUR CAPTURE BY THE ENGLISH. Virginia is a country formerly named Morosa. It lies between Florida and New France in latitude 36°, 37° and 38°. This country was first discovered and taken possession of by Jean Verazan (John

even SO

« PreviousContinue »