« PreviousContinue »
completed his early education. At the age of eighteen, after some little experience in coasters and fishing vessels he reluctantly gained the consent of his parents to take up a sea-faring life. His father had been a sailor in bis younger days, his mother's first husband, (she being a widow at the time she married Mr. Candage,) was lost at sea, and his elder brothers all took
upon the ocean, so it was natural for this son to follow in their footsteps.
He began his regular sea life by sailing between his native town and others in Maine and Boston, extending his voyages to Southern ports, the West Indies and Europe. He was in love with his calling, and strong, hardy, and apt, he soon became proficient as a seaman, and passed from the forecastle to the quarterdeck.
In 1850, his Blue Hill friends and neighbors built him a brig named the “Equator,” in which he made his first voyage as master, from Boston to Valparaiso, Chili. Since then he commanded for some six years the ship “Jamestown” of New York, ship “Electric Spark” of Boston for a like period, and lastly the ship “National Eagle” of Boston. In these vessels his voyages were what are termed "long voyages," and on them he visited the principal parts of Europe, Asia, Australia and America. He doubled Cape Horn thirteen times, both ways, and in all his voyaging sailed over more than five hundred thousand miles of salt water. His last voyage at sea was in command of ship “National Eagle,” of which he was part owner, arriving in Boston from Liverpool, Eng., in May, 1867. He then gave up the the sea life he had followed for nearly a quarter of a century, and became a resident of Brookline, Mass., where he still resides, with his business office in the city of Boston. He claimed Boston as his place of residence from 1850 up to 1867, when he went to Brookline, the native place of his first wife, Elizabeth Augusta Corey, daughter of Elijah Corey, Jr., to whom he was married May 1, 1853. She died in 1871 and in 1873 he married for his second wife Ella Maria White of Revere, Mass., by whom he has five children, two sons and three daughters.
In January, 1868, Capt. Candage was appointed surveyor for
the “Record of American and Foreign Shipping,” a work for the classification of vessels, a position he still holds. The same year he was appointed marine surveyor for the Boston board of Underwriters and held that office for some ten years. In 1882 he was appointed surveyor to the Bureau Veritas, of Paris, France, also a work on classification of vessels, which he still holds.
With an office in the Merchants Exchange building for nearly twenty years, and for two or three years past in Doape street, Capt. Candage has been a well known figure on State street with an extensive acquaintance in maritime circles.
In 1861, when the American Shipmasters Association of New York was formed he was elected its thirteenth member, and in 1867, he was elected a member of the Boston Marine Society, of which he was president in the years 1882-3, and since that time a trustee.
a member of the Brookline School Committee for five years, three of which he was chairman; has been a member of the Board of Trustees of the Brookline Public Library for twenty years; selectman of Brookline, 1879 to 1883, and an assessor of the town from 1884 to the present time.
He represented Brookline in the Massachusetts House of Representatives for the years 1882-3, serving upon the Committees of Harbors and Public Lands, Rules, and on Redistricting the State for Representatives to Congress.
He is a member of the New England Historic Genealogical Society, the Bostonian Society, the Pine Tree State Club, Dedham Historical Society and other kindred organizations. Capt. Candage is a member of the Brookline Thursday Club, of the Masons, of the Royal Arcanum, the Baptist Social Union, etc. He is president of the Boston Fire Brick Co., Boston Terra Cotta Co.; treasurer of the Seaman's Bethel Relief Society and of other small funds.
Capt. Candage has never lost his interest in his native town and State, notwithstanding his forty years' residence in Massachusetts, and his unusually busy life, as those who have read in the BANGOR HISTORICAL MAGAZINE his contributions therein relating to the early history of Blue Hill can testify.
CHURCH'S EXPEDITIONS INTO MAINE, 1689-1690-1692
One of the most valuable historical labors of the late Rev. Henry M. Dexter, D.D., LL.D., of Boston, was his reprint of the narratives of Capt. Benjamin Church's expeditions into Maine, with notes, exceeding in amount the original work.
These expeditions were sent by the commissioners of the United Colonies of Plymouth, Massachusetts and Connecticut, in 1689 and 1690, and afterward by the Province of Massachusetts Bay to protect the white settlers against the Indians, and drive off the French who clainied to own Eastern Maine and Nova Scotia.
Capt. Benjamin Church was in command in King Phillip's war when that great Indian chief was killed, 1675-6, and was selected for the command in these expeditions because of his great experience and ability.
These narratives were dictated by Col. Church to bis son Thomas, in his old age, * and first printed in Boston, 1716, by B. Green. A second edition was printed in Newport, R. I., 1772, by Solomon Southwick, and a third edition was printed in Boston, 1825, by Samuel G. Drake, and Dr. Dexter's edition was printed in 1867. It has in it a map described as :
“A true copy from an Ancient Plan of E. Hutchinson's Esq., and from Joseph Heath in 1719, and from Phin's Jones' Survey in 1731, and from John North's late survey in 1752. Attest, Thos. Johnson.”
This plan was engraved in 1753, and shows the ancient land grants on the Kennebec river and in its vicinity.
The first expedition was organized in September, 1689, by the appointment of Benjamin Church as commander-in-chief of all the forces with the rank of major. He had enlisted 250 volunteersEnglish and Indians—in New Plymouth and Rhode Islanıl. The expedition sailed from Boston and arrived at Falmouth (now Portland) the last part of September, 1689. His headquarters were to be there as the most suitable for the pursuit and destruction of the Indian enemies. Ile landed his troops near Fort
* He died at Little Compton, R. I., Jan. 17, 1718, aged 78.
Loyal in the evening and disposed of them in the garrison and houses near by. The next morning he started to attack the Indians at Back Cove. A fight ensued in which neither party was victorious. Capt. Church lost 21 or 22 killed or wounded; six of the former were white men and six friendly Indians. At this distance it looks as though the white men had the worst of it. Major Church then proceeded to Kennebec and went up the river several leagues without results.
He returned, visiting the garrisons on the way at Fort Royal, where he left 60 men, and Blue Point and Black Point, now Scarboro. Winter was now coming on and he arrived in Boston, January, 1690.
He had much trouble in getting his pay from Massachusetts Colony, Plymouth doing better.
The second expedition sailed from Plymouth about Sept. 2, 1690, and arrived at Pejepscot Fort, Sept. 12. This fort was at the Lower Falls on the Androscoggin river. There he had
. skirmishes with the Indians and killed two or three squaws and several unoffending children,” besides recovering some white captives. He then went up the Androscoggin river twenty-five or thirty miles to a fort at the head of the Falls at what is now Lewiston, where he arrived Sunday, Sept. 14. He attacked the enemy of whom he killed twenty-one, and took some prisoners whom he afterwards carried to Plymouth. He also recovered several white captives. To wind up he plundered the fort and left it in flames. He returned to winter Harbor, Saco, where he had a skirmish at Scammon's Fort, killing and making captives. September 21, he arrived at Purpooduck, Cape Elizabeth, where he landed three companies, and was himself attacked by the Indians. He had seven men killed and twenty-four wounded.
The third expedition sailed for Penobscot Bay in August, 1792. They came to Seven Hundred Acre Island off Long Island, now Islesborough, and landed their forces there. A few French and Indians were found, and on Long Island there were more. They fled from Church in fair sight and got away from him, he not having boats suitable for the chase. He seized considerable plunder there, beaver and moose skins.
He then sailed for Pemaquid and Kennebec river where he had a fight with the Indians, pursuing them up the river to their fort at Ticonic Falls, now Winslow. The Indians set fire to their houses and ran away by the light of the fires. When Church came up to the fort he found about half of the houses standing and the rest burnt. He found great stores of corn in cribs which he destroyed. He returned to Pemaquid and then to Boston.
The fourth expedition sailed from Boston, August 15, 1696, stopping on the way at Piscataqua for further orders, and from thence to Winter Harbor and Monhegan, where he fitted his boats. He then started in the night and got up to a point (Owls Head) just at daybreak. The next night he sailed up to the islands (and Camden) and soon arrived at what is now Fort Point, where they found the Indians had been. They had for a pilot one Joseph York who had been a prisoner of the Indians up the river four years previously. He told them that fifty or sixty miles up the Penobscot river the enemy had a settlement where they planted large quantities of corn every year. Church ordered his forces up the river and left his boats at the "Head of the Tide” (Eddington Bend) and marched up a long and tedious march through the woods on the west side of the river opposite Indian Old Town. A few scattering Indians were found but the place was deserted, no houses por corn being found. York told of another fort on a little island further up the river at the head of Passadumkeag Falls which was not accessible except by canoes or on the ice in in winter. Capt. Church and his men were much disappointed at the result, but as they had been exposed for several days and nights and were short of provisions, he ordered a return down river. In a day or two they got to their boats at The Bend,” (now Veazie,) and started down river against both wind and tide, and next morning got to their vessels at Fort Point. The next day he went over onto Penobscot Island (now Verona,) where he found several Indian houses, with gardens of turnips and corn, but the enemy had fled. Church then sailed for Mt. Desert where he had been informed there were French ships, but neither ships nor enemy were to be found, and he returned to Penobscot. He then sailed for the Bay of Fundy, being piloted by “old Capt.