« PreviousContinue »
1771, Sept. 11, John Berry sold for £12 1-16 and 1-2 of 1-16 of same mill.
Vol. 8, page 100. 1772, May 28, Jonathan Woodruff sold Stephen Smith 1-16th part of northwest side of the Rock mill on Western Falls river for £13, 6s., 8d.
Vol. 9, page 7. June 24, 1772, Joseph Holmes sold Ichabod Jones 1-2 of double saw mill Unity at Western Falls, standing on the Island, bounded an old mill pond on one side and the river on the other. Also 1-6th part of double saw mill on south side of said Falls, built by me in company with Morris O'Brien, John Underwood and others in 1765, for £58, 135., 4d.
Lincoln Records, vol. 9, page 194. April 27, 1773, Daniel Hill sold Ichabod Jones 1-6 of the first double saw mill built on the western side of Western Falls.
Vol. 10, page 10. May 14, 1773, Samuel Libby sold Ichabod Jones 1-16th part of double saw mill Unity, more commonly called the Rock mill, on the Island at Western river, for £27, 148.
Vol. 10, page 12. May 22, 1773, James Elliot mortgaged to (Jones) 2-8 of stream saw called the Dublin mill, so called, on Western river, Machias, said 2-8 of said saw being 2-16 of said mill.
Vol. 9, page 266. In 1777, the British burned a tide mill, grist mill at Butterfield's Creek.
At Calais prior to 1810.-Abner Hill, Peter Christie and others built a millijat Miiltown 1800. The Washington mills were soon after built on the same dam. In 1806, William Vance built a mill at Baring.
History of Calais, page 185. At Cooper, General John Cooper built a saw mill in 1816, which he named the "Successful Enterprise," and a grist mill named the “Resolution,” both costing over £2,000.
Jonesboro mills prior to 1800.-Judah Chandler and Bucknam built a mill on north side of Chandler river, 1764. This mill was afterwards rebuilt by Ephraim Whitney.
Capt. Ephraim Whitney built a mill known as the “Kennebec Mill."
There were other tide mills, also mills at Englishman's river and at Beaver Brook.
Cherryfield and Steuben.-Alexander Campbell moved to Steuben, now Cherryfield, before the Revolutionary War, where he built mills about 1772-3
“He first contemplated building a dam and mill on the privilege now occupied by the “Forest Mill,” grist mill, etc. He took counsel of Mr. Ichabod Willey, who was the only wheelwright, and of others who had lived here some years, and they advised him to build a dam down at the point instead, for two very sufficient reasons in their estimation. 1. A sufficient head to work a
mill could not be raised up at the falls, and 2d, there was little or no timber on the river above, and he would need to have his mill where he could reach it with logs cut upon the river below, and upon the islands. There was already a mill on the dam now occupied by Coffin & Co., and that would more than use up the timber that could be got up river. And so he built a dam and a tide mill down below."
There was a mill at Cherryfield or Steuben prior to that built by Mr. Campbell. Perhaps owned by Joseph Wallace, Dea. Jonathan Stevens and others.
“Deacon Stevens settled near the head of the bay and owned a grist mill near where Mrs. Shaw lately lived. He was a pious man, and having a natural gift of language, be used to conduct religious meetings and officiate at funerals. His grist mill was of rude construction, and some hours were required to convert a bushel of grain into meal, and as all the people for a long distance around depended upon his mill to grind their grain, he generally found it neccesary to keep the old wheel in motion day and night, week day and Sunday. Nor did this interfere so much with his rest or devotions, as might seem probable. He used to fill the hopper and leave the gentle old mill to work away upon it while he took a good long nap, or on Sunday went to the meeting, read a sermon and made a prayer.'
At Edmunds.-Col. John Allan and Elijah Ayer commenced building a mill in 1787, but sold out to Col. Aaron Hobart who completed it. Isaac Hobart built a mill at Little Falls, 1790.
Columbia Falls.-Capt. John Bucknam from N. Yarmouth built mills in 1765, and also Joseph Wilson from Kittery built a mill, 1765.
Gouldsborough.—Tristram and Richard Pinkham went from Boothbay to Gouldsborough, 1764-5, and built a tide mill at Long Cove, now Pinkham's Bay; said to have been one of the first saw mills built east of the Penobscot, if not the first. These two men with their families removed to Steuben prior to 1769. They sold the mill to Jesse Fearson of Boston; he to Paul D. Sargent, Oct. 10, 1785; afterward the mill was sold to Joseph C. Wood, 1800, and his heirs to Win. Freeman of Cherryfield.
Tunk River, No. 7, East of Sullivan.—Alexander Campbell built mills there about 1766-7, before he removed to Steuben or Cherryfield.
Mount Desert.—John Peters in his survey of the Island, 1789, says: “Now we begin a lot for James Richardson, beginning at a cove about 8o rods to the eastward of an Old Mill Dam formerly built by Governor Bernard.” Supposed to have been near the head of Somes' Sound.
Ante, Vol. 1, page 181. De Gregoire interested himself in building a mill near Hull's Cove, and in his deed to Henry Jackson, Aug. 4, 1794, he conveys “one square acre at end of mill dam and also the mill erected there."
Ante, Vol. 1, page 182. Abraham Somes went to Mt. Desert, Somes' Sound, 1762, and about that time built a mill there.
Ellsworth and Surry.—It is not easy to locate the first mill on Union River. I give the account as near as I can. Benjamin and Thomas Milliken built a double saw mill, 1763-65, on the site where Black's mill stood in 1865. It is said by some that Benjamin Joy and Jonathan Fly were interested in this mill or another built about the same time.
Another account says: “Samuel Milliken and others built a mill on Card's Brook, 1765, which was known as the Folly Mill.” Ben. Jellison, Jan. 9, 1775, sells his interest in Falls and Dam on the Middle Dam.” Ivory Hovey had a mill in 1776.
1781, Capt Ben Bates bought a crank for his mill.
1782, Sept., Ivory Hovey or Meletiah Jordan paid Thomas Wyer for carrying a raft of boards from Union River to Fort George, now Castine.
1793, Nov. 14, Ivory Hovey sold Meletiah Jordan 1-6 of eastern double saw mill at Lower Falls.
Deer Isle.—Nathaniel Kent, of Boston, built a mill about 1778. Mark Haskell & Sons built a saw and grist mill at Northwest Harbor. Joseph Colby, Jr., and David Thurlow built a saw mill on Thurlow Island about 1800. Mills were also built on Stinson's Neck, at Emerson's Pond, 1793, and Crockett had a mill.
Long Island, Islesborough.-There was a tide mill early in the century at Sabbath Day Harbor, and a saw mill and tannery at the mouth of Sprague's stream, West side, above Crow Cove.
Blue Hill.-Daniel Osgood, one of the first settlers built a grist mill on Mill Brook.
Tide mills were erected 1765, and also 1768 a grist mill was built at the inlet and outlet of the pond near the Falls tide mill, at the raising of which every person living in the town was present; the mill was named the “Endeavor.”
In 1768 a saw mill was built at the outlet of four ponds known as first, second, third and fourth. This mill was named the “Industry."
In 1768 a saw mlll was built on Long Island (?) called the “Improvement.”
1770, March 5, the town voted to keep open the fish course at the “Mill Endeavor.”
Prior to 1772, Carlton built a mill, afterward known as Allen's mill.
1774, March 28, the town voted to clear the fish course through Titcomb's Dam.
VINAL HAVEN PRIOR TO 1800. In 1760, Francis Cogswell, of Ipswich, built a double saw mill, which he sold in 1776 to Thaddeus Carver, and a few years after destroyed or fell down.
A grist mill was built at Pulpit Harbor stream by Thomas Beveridge,
A grist mill at Arey's Harbor occupied by Ben Coombs.
Job Calderwood erected a saw mill near the carrying place about 1775 and afterward a grist mill.
Ben and Sylvanus Coombs built a saw mill near head of Crockett's river.
William Vinal, Sen., built mills at Mill's Creek and Vinal's Falls.
A SURVEY OF THE BINGHAM PURCHASE IN 1797, BY
PARK HOLLAND, ESQUIRE.
FROM THE ARCHIVES OF THE BINGHAM ESTATE.
The communication between Penobscot and Schoodic rivers thro' the Passadumkeag and the lakes is an object worthy of attention. From this connection the situation of this river on its entrance into Penobscot bids fait_for a village settlement. If these principles are just, should not the Township, this which the Passadumkeag enters the Penobscot be purchased? There is however one objection to this, communications being highly valuable, which is, that the Passadumkeag enters the Penobscot above the fall of that river, and therefore the connection between the lower settlements of this river and its bay, with its communications will be justly impeded, if not obstructed.
The Township No. 26,* on the western side of the purchase has been contracted for by a Mr. Parsons of Hampshire County, two years since, and no part of the contract on his part has been complied with. What is to be done with this contract? This Township adjoins on the west a gore of land which separates it from Eddy's Township at the head of the tide in Penobscot river; and the distance from the river to the west line of the Township is not less than ten miles.
Adjoining No. 26, and to the south of it, is No. 2of on Union river, in which Township the river forks into East and West branches; on these are good mill seats. The one on the Western branch is proposed to be occupied. Adjoining it is some of the finest pine timber in that Country, and the Township in general is esteemed valuable in point of soil.
Below this Township and to the South is No. 14-Van Burkell’st-in which empties a stream from the East into Union river, near the mouth of which is an excellant mill seat, which may be occupied if there is any timber left on this stream or its neighborhood worth preserving. From the falls in No. 20, to within one mile of Jones's mills on Union river, is dead water and easy navigation for boats or rafts. The possession of the falls of Union river, at Jones's mills would be desirable, but there are too many impediments to the purchase; besides, it is in contemplation to enforce with a strict hand the Fish laws of those rivers, which, if done, will destroy the dam at those falls, and render the place but of little value.
As you pass Eastward from Union river there is no important stream that penetrates the Country to any considerable distance, till you come to the Narrowguagus, but many smaller rivers that have their fountains within ten miles and less of the sea shore, empty into the bay and inlets throughout the whole distance, almost the whole of which are large enough to turn mills, and many of them are now occupied for that purpose. Some of these streams are in No. 9,$ (Van Burkett's) at the • Now Amherst.
Mariaville. Waltham. Franklin.
head of Taunton Bay, but are occupied by the settlers. If timber of any consequence can be preserved by the purchase of the mills at that place, should it not be done? This Township is esteemed valuable for soil as well as situation.
From No. 7 back to Gouldsboro' issues a number of small streams, the most important one of which empties into the Western bay of Gouldsboro'; on this the proprietors have two mills,one in Gouldsboro', and the other in No. 7, now operation and under rent. The Northwestern part of this Township has a very valuable soil At the head of Prospect Harbor, Shaw has an old mill on a valuable seat. This Harbor lies a mile West of Gouldsboro' Harbor in the same Township. The possession of this mill seat would be an acquisition. This harbor with two others near to it have been laid out into lots and are now settling by Fishermen. The Tunk river, so called, which empties into the head of the Eastern bay of Gouldsboro', has its source in No. 10, and passes thro' a corner of No. 11 of the purchase, but has no mill seat upon it till it enters the Township of Steuben, This is a very good stream for mills and has timber in plenty near the large lake that is its fountain in No. 10.
As the river Narrowguagus passes up from the sea it enters the purchase in No. 11,* six or seven miles from the shore, and forks in that Township. The Western branch has its fountain in No. 16; the other which is the great branch, continues its course North thro’ Nos. 17 and 23. In the Northwestern part of No. 17 is the great falls of this river, at which it is proposed that a mill should be erected, as the most valuable part of all the timber that can pass down this river is above the falls. This Township has been run out into lots of 160 acres each, and settlers have proposed to purchase some of them. The soil of this Township is good, but not the best. It has, however, one advantage in having an abundance of natural meadows that border the small streams which water the Township in different directions.
Pleasant river enters the purchase in No. 12 on the East side. It has two good mill seats unoccupied. The chief source of this river is probably in No. 18 or 24. As there is thirty families already settled on the Southeastern part of this Township, it would perhaps be more advantageous to erect on one of the mill sites just mentioned a corn mill rather than a saw mill, or both if that be necessary. The dams of either would protect the timber above. The inhabitants are solicitous for a corn mill, as they are now obliged to go from three to seven miles to the mill at the Pleasant river settlement in No. 12. This Township with No. 13 has been lately incorporated into a town by the name of Columbia. Chandlers river, it is piesumed, has very little connection with the purchase, excepting its passing thro' the Township No. 22,1 of which an undivided eighth belongs to the purchase.
The Western Branch of the Machias River has a large extent thro' a number of townships, and probably has its source not far from
• Cherryfield. 1 Jonesboro.