Front Cover
Alfred A. Knopf, 2015 - Aging - 45 pages
"A beautiful--in both its content and production--and deeply moving testimony and celebration of how to embrace life, and face death with grace and joy, by the beloved Oliver Sacks. Before his death in summer 2015 at the age of 82, Oliver Sacks announced his own coming death from cancer to the public in 4 beautifully written, eloquent pieces he published in The New York Times. The heartfelt response from readers across the world was immediate. Gratitude gathers those pieces together in a beautifully produced, small tribute book that is as inspiring as it is insightful. In July 2013, Oliver Sacks turned eighty and wrote an eloquent piece in The New York Times about the prospect of old age and the freedom he envisioned for himself in binding together the thoughts and feelings of a lifetime. Eighteen months later, he was given a diagnosis of terminal cancer--which he announced publically in another piece in The New York Times. Gratitude is Sacks's meditation on why life continues to enthrall him even as he faces the all-too-close presence of his own death, and how to live out the months that remain in the richest and deepest way possible. It's an impassioned statement about the joy of being a sentient being and the pleasures he continues to find from his intercourse with the world, as well as a meditation that readers of all ages will cherish and re-read for the comfort and wisdom it provides."--

What people are saying - Write a review

User ratings

5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - JBD1 - LibraryThing

Four of Sacks' final essays, each lovely and Sacksian. I lament that we won't have any new essays by this wonderful writer: we will not see his like again. Read full review

LibraryThing Review

User Review  - judithrs - LibraryThing

Gratitude. Oliver Sacks. 2015. I found this book on a list from Book Riot within minutes of getting an email from a friend who just found out that one of her best friends had died. As soon as I read ... Read full review

Other editions - View all

About the author (2015)

Oliver Sacks, a physician and writer, was the author of thirteen books, including the global bestsellers, Awakenings (made into an award-winning film starring Robin Williams as Oliver Sacks), The Man Who Mistook His Wife for a Hat, Musicophilia, and most recently his memoir, On the Move, published shortly before his death in 2015.

Bibliographic information