« PreviousContinue »
The Literary course, formerly called the Ladies' course, differs from the Classical principally in the omission of all the Greek and part of the Latin and Mathematics. It has been the aim of the authorities of the College to make the entire course subservient to a broad and Christian culture, placing the Bible in the center and making all studies contribute to it.
DEPARTMENT OF PREPARATORY INSTRUCTION.
The Department of Preparatory Instruction embraces : (1.) A Classical School, with a three years' course preparatory to College, and (2.) an English School, similar in grade to an academy, and preparatory to the Literary course. Each of these is in charge of a Principal ; and both are under the same general supervision as the other departments.
DEPARTMENT OF THEOLOGY.
The only post-graduate school connected with the College is the Theological Seminary. This is considered as a part of the College, having the same President and Board of Trus. tees, and being under the same general management. It has a corps of five professors, and three regular lecturers on special topics. Other courses of lectures by distinguished men are also from time to time provided. (For the full course of study in each of the above departments of instruction, see the last Annual Catalogue.)
The following items respecting attendance are taken from the table appended to this sketch, in which full statistics of attendance are given. From 1834 to 1852, the average yearly attendance, in all departments, was 462 ; the maximum being 514 in 1843. Of these 64 per cent. during this period were young men, and 36 per cent. young ladies. From 1853 to 1876, the average yearly attendance was 1150 ; the maximum being 1371 in 1874, and the minimum being 859 in 1863. Of these, during this period, 56 per cent were young men and 44 per cent. young ladies. During the latter period--from 1853 to 1876–32 per cent., on the average, were in depart. ments above the preparatory. The average yearly attendance in the Theological Seminary, from the beginning, in 1834, to 1876, as 31. The whole number of graduates from College is 757, of whom 100 are ladies. The number of graduates in Theology is 307; and from the Ladies' or Literary Course, 588.
CONSERVATORY OF MUSIC.
The Oberlin Conservatory of Music was organized in 1865, with Mr. John P. Morgan, a graduate of the Leipsic Conservatory, as president, and became a Department of Oberlin College in 1867. Its first catalogue, issued in 1869, contains the names of 147 students and four teachers. About onefourth of these students gave their whole time to the study of music, the remainder taking one or more studies in the college. At this time, with the exception of a few organ students, who were instructed on the First Church organ, the entire teaching was done in two rooms. The branches taught were, Piano Forte, Organ, Singing and Harmony. The last catalogue, published in 1875, contains the names of 286 students and seven teachers. Of these students about two-thirds devote their whole time to the study of music. They occupy eight rooms; and the branches taught are Piano Forte, Organ, Singing, Harmony and Violin. (For course of study see College Catalogue.) Diplomas are given to those completing the course, and possessing a good English education. The average attendance during seven years was 266. (For attendance each year, see appended table.) Of the present corps of teachers four have studied abroad. It is the aim of the teach. ers to cultivate in the students a taste for the best forms of musical composition. This Department is under the same general management as the other departments, and under the special supervision of the Director. The length of time necessary to complete the course, is from two to four years. The classes in choral singing are free to all members of the college.
There are six organized Literary Societies, composed of members belonging to the various College Departments; one comprising members of the Theological Department; three, members of the Classical; and two, members of the Literary Course. Of the three comprising members of the Classical Course, the Phi Delta and Phi Kappa Pi were founded in 1839; the present membership of each is thirty ; the total membership of the former is 502, and of the latter 475.
The Alpha Zeta was founded in 1869. Its present membership is thirty, and its total membership ninety. Of the two societies comprising members of the Literary Course, the Ladies' Literary was founded in 1835, its present membership is twenty-six, and its total membership 900; the Ælioian was founded in 1852, its present membership is thirty-two, and its total membership 600. The initiation fee of each of the societies is $5.00, and the annual dues the same.
There is an Alumni Association, the name of which is “The Association of Alumni of Oberlin College.” This Association was organized in 1839, and is composed of all the college graduates. Within a few years it has come into a certain relation to the Trustees. It appoints three of its members corresponding members of the Board of Trustees, who have all the privileges of regular members, except that of voting. During Commencement week an annual address is given before the Association by one of its members, chosen the previous year ; and at a joint meeting of the Trustees and Alumni such statements are made of the condition and prospects of the college as are of interest.
The Society of Alumni of the Theological Department, has similar annual addresses, and appoints two corresponding members of the Board of Trustees.
THE GYMNASIUM ASSOCIATION.
There is an Association of the students owning and control. ing the Gymnasium, called - The Oberlin Gymnasium Association.” Its object is physical culture ; it was founded in the summer of 1873; and its present membership is 150. Classes practice gymnastic exercises under competent teachers. Its funds are replenished in part by occasional lectures. The value of apparatus, buildings, &c.. is about $1,000.
All secret societies are prohibited by the rules of the college ; and in the whole history of the college none has ever existed.
There are two Libraries connected with the Institution, the College Library and the Library of the College societies; both together comprising about 1 1,600 volumes. The College Library, consisting of about 11,000 volumes, has been made up largely from the contributions of books by the friends of the Insti. tution, both in this country and England. No large amount of money has ever been given for the Library. Till within a few years there has been no library fund; but there is now such a fund accruing from a term fee of thirty-five cents, required of all the students, and from examination fees, and amounting to about $Svo per annum. About half of this is available for the purchase of books; and the Library is growing slowly by the addition of new books. During term time it is open every week.day afternoon for reading and consul. tation, and two afternoons of the week for drawing. It is well patronized by the students, and is becoming an important auxiliary to the instruction given in the classes.
The Library of the Societies, consisting of about 3,600 volumes, is under the control of an Association composed of the College Societies, of the Ladies' Societies, and of the Theological Society, called the “Union Library Association." The funds for increasing the Library are obtained from a term fee of fifty cento for each member, from the appropria. tion of $4.00 of each initiation fee, and from money obtained by lectures. This is a well selected Library, and is largely used by the College students. A Reference Library, for the use of the Theological Students, to be located in Council Hall, is contemplated
A Reading Room was established in connection with a society called “The Society of Inquiry,” in the early history of the college, and the Reading Room has been continued to the present time. It is sustained by the fees of members, and furnishes many of the leading periodicals of the country. A Reading Room is also maintained for the theological students at Council Hall.
The college possesses a valuable cabinet in the departments of Geology and Natural History, principally collected through the untiring efforts of Professor George N. Allen, who occupied the professorship in this department for twenty. four years. There are about 3,000 specimens of minerals; 2,000 rocks and fossils ; 350 stuffed birds and mammals ; 20 cases of insects; 1,500 trays of modern shells, representing nearly every family ; 2 large cases of corals ; several hundred miscellaneous zoological specimens and curiosities, with a considerable amount of duplicate material. Students pursuing these branches have free access to these specimens for study. Students in mineralogy have a special cabinet of minerals for their use, and 350 wood models of crystallogra. phic forms.
The apparatus for electrical experiments is good ; a fine plate machine of large size, with the usual adjuncts, batteries, bells, image plates, etc.; a Ruhmkorff Coil of Ritchie's make, containing fifteen miles of wire ; electro magnets, arranged for exhibiting very varied effects; a large galvanometer; a Clark's magneto-electric machine, and a large size Geissler's tube ; an electric lamp ; large flat coils of copper wire, and automatic inductive coils of small size ; and apparatus for illustrating telegraphy. There is a tolerably good pneumatic apparatus ; a large air pump and receivers, condensers, weightlifters, balloon jar, etc., etc.
For accoustics, the apparatus is meagre-only a few cheap diapasoms, organ tubes, glass bell, monochord, wire coils, etc.